Driving Safety Course and Deferred

DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

Request for Driving Safety Course

Eligibility

  • Any moving violation (not for “paperwork” offenses such as inspection/registration or defective equipment)
  • Must have a valid Texas Driver’s License and valid Texas Auto Liability Insurance (Defendant must be a listed driver on insurance policy)
  • CDL Holders are NOT eligible
  • Must not be taking DSC for another offense in this court or any other court
  • Must not have had a ticket dismissed through a Driving Safety Course in the 12 months preceeding the date of the ticket filed in this court
  • Requires a plea of “No Contest” or “Guilty”
  • Must be requested by appear by date on ticket or Applicaton for Extension must have been completed.  A court date will be required to request from Judge if other options have expired.

Offenses Excluded

  • Offenses in construction zones when workers are present
  • Speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
  • Passing a School Bus
  • Reckless Driving
  • Fleeing/Eluding Police
  • Failure to Stop and Render Aid
  • Failure to Stop at Accident: Damage

Length of Probation

  • 90 days (Three Months)

Costs Up Front

  • $109.00 Court Costs + Administrative Fee
  • $134.00 Court Costs + Administrative Fee for Offenses occurring in a SCHOOL ZONE

Extra Expenses

  • $10 to $12 to Department of Public Safety for Certified Copy of Driving Record, Type 3A

Conditions of Probation

  • Obtain Driving Record from DPS
  • Take Driving Safety Course after Court approves
  • Provide Court with Certified copy of Driving Record, type 3A and certificate of complete from Driving Safety Course (signed Court copy) on or before due date given to you by court (90 day from date of approval)

Penalty for Non-Compliance

  • Conviction
  • Payment of Additional Fine
  • Offense reported to DPS


DEFERRED DISPOSITION

Request for Deferred Disposition

Eligibility

  • Must have Judge’s approval (May require court appearance for certain offenses) Court will consider the seriousness of the violation, if accident or injury occurred, if other charges were incurred at the time of the offense, Driving Record of the Defendant
  • Requires Plea of “No Contest” or “Guilty”
  • CDL HOLDERS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE

Offenses Excluded

  • Offenses in construction zones when workers are present
  • Any offense according to Judge’s discretion

Length of Probation

  • 90 days (three months) to 180 days (six months)

Costs Up Front

  • Special Expense and Court Costs (contact court for information)

Extra Expenses

  • Drivers under age 25 may be required to complete a Driving Safety Course in addition to deferred requirements, depending on the offense alleged on the ticket - $25 to $100
  • Drivers who hold provisional licenses must pay $10 to Department of Public Safety for examination fee

Conditions of Probation

  • NO moving violations during period of probation
  • Offense reported to DPS

*PLEASE NOTE:

If you fail to complete requirements for DSC or Deferred Disposition, your case will be scheduled for a Show Cause Hearing

Payment for DSC or Deferred is due at the time the request is made.  If you are unable to pay in full for your request on or before the appear by date on your ticket, you may request an extension for 30 days.  If you would like an extension, please fill out the forms below:

Financial Affidavit

Request for Extension

 PLEASE CONTACT THE COURT WITH ANY QUESTIONS