MUNICIPAL COURT FAQ
Most Commonly Asked Questions
Q. How do I request a Court date?
A. If you wish to enter a plea of Not Guilty and request a court date to speak with the Judge, you must notifiy the Court in writing or in person on or before the appearance date on your citation. When making your request, please include your name, mailing address and plea. Written requests are accepted by fax: 940-686-3070, sending to 102 E. Main Street, Pilot Point, Texas 76258 or by emailing the Court Clerk. Once we have received your request, you will be notified by the Court Clerk of your Court hearing date and time. It is your responsibility to ensure that the Court has received your notification.
Q. How do I plead Nolo Contendere (No Contest) or Guilty?
A. If you desire to enter a plea of No Contest or Guilty and pay the fine on your citation, include your Personal Check, Cashier's Check or Money Order for the fine amount and return it in person or by U. S. Mail, Federal Express or UPS with a letter stating your plea preference. Your plea and payment must be received on or before the appearance date on your citation. Contact the Municipal Court Clerk's Office at 940-686-4707 for the correct fine amount or if you have questions. Our mailing address is: Municipal Court, 102 E. Main Street, Pilot Point, Texas 76258. If your plea and fine amount are not received on or before the appearance date, your fine may increase for failure to appear. If your citation goes into warrant status additional fees will apply. If you cannot pay your fine in full, you can make payments arrangements on or before your appearance date by coming to the Court window between the hours of 8:00 - 5:00 p.m. M-F, excluding holidays.
Q. Can I make payment arrangements?
A. Payment arrangements MUST BE MADE AT THE COURT WINDOW and can only be accepting with the Defendant present. The Court clerk will explain to you all of your options at that time. Please call in advance to request your first payment amount so that you are prepared when you arrive. Your initial payment must be received on or before your appearance date on your citation. If you require more than 30 days to pay your fine in full, a fee of $25 will be added for each offense, as required by state law.
Q. Is my ticket administratively dismissible?
A. There are a number of offenses that can be dismissed however, some conditions apply. Please reference or contact the Court at 940-686-4707 if you have any questions.
Q. Should I take a Driver's Safety Course or Request Deferred Disposition?
A. Please review comparison chart which explains the difference between taking a Driver's Safety course or requesting to take Deferred Disposition.
Q. How do I apply for Driver's Safety?
A. If you are charged with an eligible moving violation, you may request leave to take a Driver's Safety Course for the dismissal of your citation. However, you will lose that right if you do not appear in person, or provide written notice to the Court on or before your appearance date (the date in the lower section of your citation). If your appearance date passes without an appearance by you, either in person or in writing, the fine amount on your citation may increase for failure to apprear.
You are required to pay the required state costs in full at the time of your request. DO NOT TAKE THE DRIVER SAFETY COURSE UNTIL YOU HAVE RECEIVED PERMISSION FROM THE COURT.
When making your request in person or in writing, you will need to:
Q. How do I apply for Deferred Disposition?
A. Defendants are allowed to be on Deferred Disposition once a year in this Court. The Defendant must enter a plea of no contest or guilty and make a written request to the Court. Your request must be made by the due date on your citation. If your request is made by mail, it must arrive to the Court on or before the due date on your ticket. The amount of the fine and the court costs must be paid in full at the time of your request. Commercial License holders do not qualify. Contact the court at (940) 686-4707 to find out the deferred costs and fee amount. When a request is made to the court in a timely manner and all requirements are met, the defendant will be granted Deferred Disposition.
Q. What methods of payment do you accept?
A. We accept Personal Checks, Cashier's Checks , Money Orders and most major Credit Cards. You can pay using your credit card at the court window, online or over the phone. You will need to obtain your 9 digit case number by calling the court at 940-686-4707 prior to making your payment over the phone or online . If you choose to pay by credit card, a convenience fee of 4% ($2.00 minimum) will be added to your payment amount and you must pay the fine amount IN FULL. If you cannot pay your fine in full, you must appear in person. IF YOU HAVE A WARRANT or THINK YOU MAY HAVE A WARRANT CONTACT THE COURT as soon as possible as your options will vary.
READ THE FOLLOWING NOTICE BEFORE PAYING BY CREDIT CARD
To pay by phone or online you will need the following information:
Certified Payments charges a nominal amount for allowing you the convenience of making government payments via the Internet.